Albalagh Logo

Bismillah hir Rahman ir Rahim

"A hypocrite's tongue is clean, but there is sickness in his heart." (Sayyidna Ali, Radi-Allahu anhu)

Current Affairs | Food for Thought | Q & A | General Articles | Audio | Children | Letters | Bookstore
Halal | Education | Islamic Economics | Prophethood | Women & Family | Population | Book Review | Links

 
  Albalagh Home Q & A Red Wine Vinegar
  

S E A R C H

Text:


A L B A L A G H
N E W S L E T T E R

Email:
Subscribe
Unsubscribe

Please make sure your email address is correct.

The newsletter will inform you of updates to this page, as well as provide other useful information.


Sugar Alcohol

By Mufti Shafiq Jakhura (Darul Ihsan Centre)


Q.: Sugar alcohol is used as an artificial flavor in several cake mixes. Is it halal or not?



A. In terms of information at our disposal, sugar alcohols are permissible for Halal consumption. The said alcohols occur naturally in plants. Some of them are extracted from plants e.g. sorbitol from corn syrup and mannitol from seaweed, but they are mostly manufactured from sugars and starches. Maltitol, xylitol, and sorbitol are all sugar alcohols.

And Allah Ta'ala Knows Best

_________________________________________________


    Albalagh Home Q & A Red Wine Vinegar
 
No Copyright Notice. All the material appearing on this web site can be freely distributed for non-commercial purposes. Acknowledgement will be appreciated. The audio files may be copied to tapes, etc. for your listening convenience.