Albalagh Logo

Bismillah hir Rahman ir Rahim

Hadith: "He who believes in Allah and the Last Day should speak what is good or be silent." (Bukhari)

Current Affairs | Food for Thought | Q & A | General Articles | Audio | Children | Letters | Bookstore
Halal | Education | Islamic Economics | Prophethood | Women & Family | Population | Book Review | Links

 
  Albalagh Home Q & A Vinegar and Prawns
  

S E A R C H

Text:


A L B A L A G H
N E W S L E T T E R

Email:
Subscribe
Unsubscribe

Please make sure your email address is correct.

The newsletter will inform you of updates to this page, as well as provide other useful information.


Vinegar and Prawns

By Mufti Ebrahim Desai


Q.) My question relates to two topics.

Firstly what is the status of spirit vinegar in Islam? Is it haram. I have heard that if the alcohol changes form naturally then it is Ok but if it is changed deliberately (chemical laboratory) to benefit from the alcohol then it is haram.

Also I am confused about prawns; biologically they are not fishes. So can we eat them? Generally what is the ruling on sea creatures. [Mahmoon Siddiq]


A.) 1. All types of vinegar, natural as well as chemical, are permissible.

2. According to the three Madhaahib, viz. Shaaf'ee, Maaliki and Hanbali, the prawn is permissible, irrespective of it being a fish or not. However, according to the Hanafi Madhab, prawn is not permissible as it is not a fish.

And Allah Ta'ala Knows Best


    Albalagh Home Q & A Vinegar and Prawns
 
No Copyright Notice. All the material appearing on this web site can be freely distributed for non-commercial purposes. Acknowledgement will be appreciated. The audio files may be copied to tapes, etc. for your listening convenience.